Selah March

June 4, 2008

Yesterday, I Cried

Filed under: blah blah blah,New release — Selah March @ 9:30 am

Last evening, I took my two younger spawn to their first funeral home calling hours for a 40-year-old wife and mother taken by breast cancer only a few months after diagnosis. I tried (“tried” being the operative word) to use it as an opportunity to teach my kids how to behave in public around grieving people, how to offer support and compassion in socially appropriate ways, and how not to freak out at the sight of a casket, open or closed.

What I didn’t count on was how deeply affected I’d be by the profound sorrow of the family, and their generosity in greeting and offering comfort to literally hundreds of mourners. The look in the deceased’s husband’s eyes as he smiled and shook my hand and thanked me for coming…the tenderness with which her sister gave my daughter a hug, knowing this was her first experience with death…the way her brother-in-law shook my son’s hand and treated him like the young man he is…

Get your boobies squished, girls. Early and often. Do it for the folks who’ll have to pick out what you’ll wear into eternity. Do it for the ones who’ll have to stand in a receiving line for three solid hours and smile, smile, smile when all they want to do is hide under the covers and sob. But mostly, do it for yourself.

And now for something completely different…

Check out the Red Sage Revealed blog. Somebody at Red Sage knows how to write some compelling promotional copy, yeah? And it ain’t me, believe me. (When I read that blurb, I hear the voice of the guy who narrates the movie trailers. KEWL.)

Okay then. Onward. Today, I will laugh.

1 Comment »

  1. Sigh. Funerals. So young.

    Comment by FerfelaBat — June 8, 2008 @ 8:55 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

